Mini Coffee (literally) donuts

unnamed

To tell the truth I never really cared about cooking. I liked baking a bit… if it didn’t imply anything more than getting the cake mix out of the box and dropping a couple eggs in it.

I was one of those people who proud themselves in not cooking, I know, dumb. I had some sort of sense of pride in the fact that it was my husband doing most of the house chores.

Then again, I had always lived in places with tiny kitchens… like so tiny you could barely fit in one  skinny person. About a year ago we moved into a new house and finally had an average size / functional kitchen. And that’s when something changed.

We designed it and put it together it ourselves so I spent way too many hours on Pinterest looking for ideas. That, of course, let to many cooking blogs and websites…

Suddenly cooking seemed like a wonderful world where anything could happen. When any idea could be put into practice. And food. There was food implied. Say no more, I was hooked!

Now, I just started and it seems like it is impossible (I mean it) for me to follow a recipe. You said cinnamon? I have it… but should I replace it with coffee? what? Will it turn out completely different? but did you say coffee? I think you said cinnamon but meant coffee…

IMG_1454

IMG_1496IMG_1456And that’s how this recipe was born (not a very original one but tested around my co-workers who know their way around a kitchen so I feel confident).

You’ll need:

  • -1½ cups all-purpose flour
  • -1 teaspoon baking soda
  • -1/2 cup applesauce (unsweetened)
  • -2 eggs (separated)
  • -1 cup sugar
  • -1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • -1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 teaspoons of instant coffee
  • 1 teaspoon cocoa powder

1- Pre-heat oven at 365F.

2- Separate the eggs and whisk the whites (with an electric mixer or manually) until they form soft peaks*. Set aside.

3- Heat up almond milk (a little, it doesn’t need to boil) and mix the coffee and cocoa powder, set aside.

4- Cream together sugar and applesauce in a stand mixer. Add in eggs yolks, mix thoroughly.

5- Add in egg yolks , coffee-chocolate-almond milk and vanilla extract.

6- Slowly fold in flour and baking soda. Once it is well mixed, add-very carefully- the egg whites.

7- Pour batter a greased donut pan**.

8- Bake it for about 12-15 minutes.

* I like to add 1/2 teaspoon of cream of tartar. So helps!

** For this recipe, I used a mini donuts pan. But feel free to use whatever cake mold you want / have. Use a knife to gently poke into the center of your cake to check if they’re ready.

  • Recipe adapted from: sweetcsdesigns.com
  • Makes about 24 mini donuts. Estimate Nutritional Facts (per 1 donut):   Calories: 69  •  Carbs: 15  •  Fat: 1  •  Protein: 331  •  Sodium:  62  •   Sugar: 9

One thought on “Mini Coffee (literally) donuts

Leave a Reply

